Skip to main content.

Student Leaders Awarded Lieutenant Colonel Thomas Wall Scholarship from Greater Irvine Chamber

Tuesday, May 29, 2018

Main News Photo

Each year, the Greater Irvine Chamber of Commerce provides scholarships to students  enrolled at Irvine Valley College (IVC) in remembrance of Lieutenant Colonel Thomas Wall, a former chairman of the Irvine Valley College Foundation and the Chamber.

Trustees from the Lt. Col. Thomas U. Wall Scholarship Committee attended the 2018 Irvine Valley College Scholarship Awards Ceremony on May 16 to award this year’s scholarship recipients: Julio Bustos, Pat Mallawong, Brittany Phillips, and Jacob Rich.

“In early life it was rare to get a pat on the back. Your investment in my success truly means a lot,” said Phillips, addressing the scholarship committee members. “I am so grateful, thank you. You gave my perseverance your compassion and recognized what I see in myself.”

The scholarship is awarded to applicants who are U.S. residents, U.S. military veterans, children or grandchildren of a U.S. military veteran, and are pursuing a career path in science, business, or law enforcement at IVC. Student applications were reviewed by a committee assembled by IVC. Selected students were then interviewed by trustees of the scholarship.

Through Wall’s generosity, an endowment bearing his name has been created so that, in perpetuity, an annual scholarship will be awarded to student leaders at IVC.

Wall completed a distinguished 20-year military career with more than 1,000 combat missions flown in Vietnam. Being a civic-minded individual, he understood the meaning of courage, pride and honor. Those who knew Wall were inspired by his enthusiasm for life and his generosity. Before his passing in 2006, Wall established the Lt. Col. Thomas U. Wall Scholarship Fund at the Irvine Chamber of Commerce.

“Going to the IVC scholarship event is one of my yearly highlights as a Chamber member,” said Bruce Greenberg, chair of the scholarship committee. “The stories that we hear and the smiles from the grateful students make this a heartwarming event. I’m already looking forward to next year’s event.”

For more information about the scholarship, click here.

Photo: Pat Mallawong, Barry Rodolff, Whit Peterson, Betty Jo Woollett, Brittany Phillips, Julio Bustos, Lisa Thomas, and Bruce Greenberg.


Category: Chamber News

Skip Business Directory Content
Skip Fast Fact Content

Back to Portal